Electrical Wiring Question

Old 03-01-05, 01:17 PM
Piedmont3
Visiting Guest
Electrical Wiring Question

I am NOT an electrician.
I am a computer Programmer.
I have repaired and replaced outlets, switches,light fixtures and ceiling fans in the past. I have pulled Cat 5 cable, phone cable, TV cable, and puched them down, and terminated them extensively.
I am NOT an electrician.

I have a new workshop that has just completed construction.
I have bought the MC-Cable(12-2) Outlets, switches, and boxes to wire my shop with electricity. I want to pull all the cable, wire the outlets, switches and lights, then pay an electrician to check all the wiring, and do the final connections to the Breaker box.

I have a few questions...

1. I f I put a single GFCI outlet as the first outlet(closest o the Breaker Box) in each circuit, will that protect all the following outlets,switches, lights on that circuit?

2. Can I simply choose which of the 3 wires in the MC-Cable I want to be "hot", "Neutral", and "Ground", as long as I use that same color wire in the same way throught the entire installation?

3. How much "Extra" MC-Cable do I need to leave at the Breaker box end of the circuit, to make it easy for the Electrician to connect each circuit to the Breaker Box? 6 inches?, 1 foot?, 2 feet? ???

Sponsored Links
Old 03-01-05, 01:35 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
1) Yes the GFI can protect anything located downstream from it if wired to the LOAD terminals.

2) No you cannot just pick a wire and choose to make it the hot or neutral. The black will be the HOT, the white is neutral and the green is the ground.

3) Allow enough wire to reach the opposite end of the panel, ie cables will go into the top of the panel, leave enough to reach the bottom or a little longer. Remember, a foot too long is ok, an inch too short is not.

Old 03-01-05, 04:11 PM
waterfowelman
Visiting Guest
Gfci