Need help with bath fan / heater / light wiring please.


  #1  
Old 03-03-05, 03:22 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 87
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need help with bath fan / heater / light wiring please.

I just purchased a Broan 659 heater / fan / light combo. We currently have a fan / light combo. I'm looking at the wiring and got a question.. Here is how they say to wire it:



Currently there is just one wire running from the switch (box) to the attic and into the light / fan. However, about a year ago I installed a light into the shower and ran another wire down the same spot to the same switch (so the switch turns on both the shower light and the fan/light. My question is.. From the looks of that diagram I have to run ANOTHER wire down to the switch. If I remember correctly it was a VERY tight fit getting the shower light wire down to it.

I will be replacing the single pole switch with a three function control switch.

1. Do I have to run another wire or is it possible to wire it another way.

2. If I do, would it be smart to cut out the original box and put it a remodeling box (to get more room)?

3. How would I wire it so that my shower light comes on with the light portion of the new heater/fan/light?

4. I may get yelled at for this but I'll just let it be known.. This unit says it needs to run on a dedicated 15 AMP circuit. Problem is I don't have any open circuits I can use (nor do I want to attempt to run a wire to the box if I got a new box). The maximum load this unit produces with the fan, light, and heater on at the same time is 12.0 amps.. That tells me I can run a couple of canned lights on this same circuit (in the bathroom) safely. Is that correct?

Thanks for the help!
 
  #2  
Old 03-03-05, 04:46 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
1. You need to add a section of 14-3 (per the instructions) if you want the fan, the light and the heater to be individually controlled.

2. It does sound like you need a bigger box. Can you alternately run the shower light cable over to the fan/light/heater? This will eliminate one cable from the box.

3. Connect the black wire that goes to the shower light to the wire that powers the light portion of the fan/light/heater, where it comes off the switch. This appears to be where they suggest to connect the red wire.

4. If this unit really draws 12 amps, then you have 3 amps left for whatever else is on this circuit, which includes your shower light. What are the other items on this circuit? Are there hallway lights? bedroom lights? Receptacles? The problem you will may run into is that you will trip the breaker when you run the heater. This will plunge the bathroom into darkness. Do the right thing and run a new circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 03-03-05, 05:00 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 87
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
First.. Thanks for replying.. I really appreciate it.

So are you saying I that in the attic I can just hop from the shower light over to the fan? If that is true then would it be OK if I just used the shower light wire I ran to the switch as the additional wire for the fan/light/heater (if it is 14-3)? That way I wouldn't even have to run another wire... I could just use the one I ran for the shower light.

If that is the case and I can do it like that would I just run a wire from the shower light in the attic over to the fan/light/heater in the attic? How would I wire it up?

I would really like to run a new circuit but I have two problems. The first being I never tried that before and I don't know how I could get a wire to the basement through the plates. The second is my fuse box is full right now and I would have to replace the whole box and get upgraded service.

Basically if I have 6 60W lights on at the same time I have the heater/fan/light on I would be at the max of the circuit..
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: