Sewage ejector on GFCI?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-10-05, 09:20 AM
markroy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sewage ejector on GFCI?

I've just installed a sewage ejector in my basement. It requires (I believe) a dedicated 20A circuit. There is a utility sink very close to the sewage ejector (both are in the 'unfinished' part of the basement).

I'm thinking that because the receptacle for the sewage ejector pump is near the sink, I have to use a GFCI outlet. But, I think I read in another thread here that it's not a good idea for a pump to be on a GFCI. I certainly don't want this breaker tripping unnecessarily!

Advice?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-10-05, 10:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Do not use a GFCI. USe a single receptacle (not a duplex receptacle). It must be a 20 amp receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 03-10-05, 11:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Follow the pump manufacturer's instructions. If they say to use a GFCI, then do so. Otherwise, don't.
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-05, 06:35 AM
markroy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The pump manufacturer (Goulds) doesn't say anything one way or the other about GFCI. I had thought that the outlet's proximity to the laundry sink might require that a GFCI outlet be used.

I guess that if I use a 20A simplex receptacle (non-GFCI), I'll avoid the issue.
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-05, 10:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
I would not want a sewage ejector to trip a GFCI and not know about it. If you want to use a GFCI I would wire it so that some often used light is also going to go off if the GFCI trips.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'