Wiring a Socket off a Lighting Circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-14-05, 03:03 PM
jonespr1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Smile Wiring a Socket off a Lighting Circuit?

I basically want to install a socket in the attic to run an aerial booster permanently, currently there is a fluorescent tube up there, but no other power supply

It would be simple to tap into this and add a socket, but am I correct in assuming that a socket is not allowed on a lighting circuit? Is there any guidance or regulations on this?

Any help appreciated

Robert
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-14-05, 03:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
There are no codes preventing receptacles from being added to lighting circuits.

However, you can't just add to a circuit from anywhere, and you sometimes cannot extend a circuit.

Is this circuit properly grounded? You can only extend grounded circuits.

Can this circuit handle the load you intend to add. What is presently on this circuit, and how much power does this aerial booster booster?

Where do you want to attach to this circuit? The location you attach to has to have unswitched power. That means an unswitched hot wire, a neutral wire and a ground wire.
 
  #3  
Old 03-14-05, 03:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Another pertinent question would be where is the switch that controls this fixture? Is it on the fixture? Elsewhere in the attic? Down below?
 
  #4  
Old 03-14-05, 03:54 PM
jonespr1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
...about 4 ft from the light fitting itself.

Robert
 
  #5  
Old 03-14-05, 04:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
The issue with where the switch is has to do with power. The power may come into the switch and then to the light, or the power may come into the light with a switch loop to the switch.

You can probably extend from either location, but you need to get the location with constant power.

How about those other questions. What are the answers?
 
  #6  
Old 03-14-05, 04:57 PM
jonespr1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool

Originally Posted by racraft
The issue with where the switch is has to do with power. The power may come into the switch and then to the light, or the power may come into the light with a switch loop to the switch.

You can probably extend from either location, but you need to get the location with constant power.

How about those other questions. What are the answers?
Sorry, the power comes into the switch and then onto the light

I could obviously tap in before the switch, but is this allowed, are there any regulations/regulations, would it pass an inspection?

Robert
 
  #7  
Old 03-14-05, 06:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Yes, you can tap this at the switch.

However, before doing so you need to make sure you won't overload the circuit.
 
  #8  
Old 03-14-05, 07:21 PM
jonespr1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by racraft
Yes, you can tap this at the switch.

However, before doing so you need to make sure you won't overload the circuit.
Circuit box has a 6A MCB and upstairs wiring circuit is currently loaded as follows:

1 x 20W Energy Saving Bulb on Landing
1 x 20W Energy Saving Bulb in Guest Room
1 x 20W Energy Saving Bulb in Second Bedroom
1 x 20W Energy Saving Bulb in Master Bedroom (plan to upgrade to 3 x 60W Spotlight Fitting)
1 x 60W Bulb Bathroom
1 x Flouresent Strip in Attic (Didn't look at Rating)

...so even if all the light fittings were running 100W bulbs there would still be plenty of juice to spare

Which then leads me to my last question which is the best way to go about it, wire a spur out of the switch itself or tap into the cable leading to the switch?

Do I need any additoional protection, are there any regulations this needs to meet?

Cheers for the advice

Robert
 
  #9  
Old 03-15-05, 07:31 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You should have no problem tapping this circuit, assuming the power requirements of this aerial booster are minimal.

Tap into the circuit at the switch box. With the power off, open the switch box and pull out the switch. You will have to attach to the power coming into the box. This means attaching to the white wires (which should be wire-nutted together), and to the black wire that provides power into the switch. You will need a wire nut and a pigtail to attach the black wire. The ground wire gets attached to the existing ground wires.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes