Ground wiring question?

Old 03-15-05, 04:13 AM
colleen25
Visiting Guest
Ground wiring question?

I just bought an older house and we found out the upstairs outlets do not have ground wiring. what does this mean exactly? Is it dangerous? Not sure since the previous owners must have lived ok without it.I have no background in this and i am also female so I just dont know

we are still waiting to see if the sellers will add ground wiring or just credit us to do it ourselves

Sponsored Links
Old 03-15-05, 04:27 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Originally Posted by colleen25
i am also female so I just dont know
Hey, that makes no difference. I know a lot of guys who "just dont know"

Originally Posted by colleen25
or just credit us to do it ourselves
This I don't get. You are buying an old house. Why must this be done at the sellers expense?? It's not like they are trying to hide it. It's not a serious structural defect that was not readily visible.
Since the advent of these *#@#^ home inspectors people are under the impression that a seller must make an old house like new. I'm sure the seller has taken things like this into account. If it needs a roof for instance I'm sure the price reflects this fact.

To ground these receptacles could be a job of anywhere from $200-$2000+ dollars. There is no way to tell without scoping it out with a trained eye.
In fact they do not even need to be grounded. They can be left as is, they can be replaced with new two-prong receptacles or they can be protected by a GFI at the first device of each circuit and 3-prong receptacles installed (with other restrictions).
I'll bet there are probably on three or four general circuits in the whole house if it is that old.

I'm sorry if I sound overly frank, but if I were the seller I would say: "Here is my house....this is the price....do you want it, or not."

Old 03-15-05, 04:44 AM
Grounding of convenience receptacles has been both evolutionary and geographical in application.