door bell question

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-15-05, 04:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
door bell question

Would like to know if I could add a second chime in a remote location of the house, using a single door button, or would that require a higher rated transformer. If so how many volts? Thanks once again for your help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-16-05, 01:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Fayetteville, NY, USA
Posts: 1,052
I guess nobody really likes doorbell questions.

Find your doorbell transformer. It's usually in the basement. Find a label, or test with volt meter, to determine voltage. It will be DC. Find a chime that is the same voltage. the chimes usually take such small current that the existing transformer will power both the existing and the new chime unit.

You will probably have to pay attention to which wire is positive and which is negative.

Hope that helps.

Juice
 
  #3  
Old 03-16-05, 07:21 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,287
Actually, a transformer transforms voltage from one level to another. A rectifier converts A C to D C. The output of the transformer will be A C
 
  #4  
Old 03-16-05, 07:25 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,287
Sorry, I forgot to answer your original question. One major chime maker recommends a 24 volt 20VA transformer for multiple chimes.
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-05, 07:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I'd try a 16-volt 20va or 30va transformer. 24 volts might be a bit much for the skinny wire, especially if your doorbell button sticks down and it draws current for an extended time.
 
  #6  
Old 03-17-05, 10:23 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,287
John,
Just reading from the catalog of my former employer aka Nut One. 16 volts should be fine but they do suggest the 24 v model for multiple chimes.
 
  #7  
Old 03-17-05, 11:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Goldstar, what do they suggest for wire size?
 
  #8  
Old 03-17-05, 02:24 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,287
They don't list a size for the 24V model but do say that their 16V 30 VA model can also be used with multiple chimes. They recommend / sell 18 gauge wire for the chimes. Their transformers also have a thermal switch to kill the secondary if a prolonged overload is detected. Like many things, we once built the transformers and chimes in Cincinnati, but now it's all produced off shore.
 
  #9  
Old 03-17-05, 06:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
If you have 18-gauge wire, I'd say okay to the 24 volts. But a lot of doorbells are wired with something closer to 24-gauge wire.
 
  #10  
Old 03-19-05, 05:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
Thanks all! Iwas out sick for a couple off days, but will check the voltage and wire size next trip under the house.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'