Wall Box Capacity


  #1  
Old 03-18-05, 08:04 PM
Spyle
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wall Box Capacity

How many wires can I run into a single-gang wall box? And what about double-gang? Our basement has some double-gang boxes with 8 wires (or 4 cables) in it already and I was hoping to add some outlets to it.

If I can't add on, can I just put a junction box along 1 of the cable runs somewhere?
 
  #2  
Old 03-18-05, 08:18 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Several important pieces of data are necessary to answer your question.
  1. What size is the wire? Is it 12-gauge or 14-gauge?
  2. How big is the box? The size of each box, in cubic inches, is embossed or stamped into the back of the box. If you can't find this information on the box, then measure the box for us. Tell us height, width and depth.
  3. Do the cables have grounding wires too?
  4. Is the box metal or plastic?
Adding a junction box along one of the cable runs may be a problem since it is unlikely the cable has sufficient slack to allow this, and still have enough wire to make connections safely.
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-05, 04:51 AM
Spyle
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
1. 14-guage
2. 18 CU. IN.
3. Yes
4. Plastic

I noticed it says

9/14
8/12
7/10

embossed on the box also. Does that mean I can run nine 14-guage wires? Not counting ground?
 
  #4  
Old 03-19-05, 07:44 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,974
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The 9 #14 would count the ground also. Any device placed into the box would count as 2 of the 9 also.

Ex. 2 cables of 14-2 with a receptacle = 7 wires.
 

Last edited by John Nelson; 03-19-05 at 08:53 AM. Reason: correct a typo
  #5  
Old 03-19-05, 08:49 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I never buy 18-cubic-inch boxes if a larger box will fix in the space. 18-cubic-inch boxes are just too darn small.

An 18-cubic-inch plastic box can have four 14/2 cables in it if there is no receptacle or switch in the box. If there is a receptacle or switch, it can only have three.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: