220 wall switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-19-05, 06:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
220 wall switch

I am installing a 220 20 amp line (12 gauge)to an air handler in my attic. I am told code requires a wall switch near the unit to turn off the power. Would a 2 pole 15 amp switch suffice for this, or do I need a special 20amp type switch?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-19-05, 09:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
When you remove the acess panel that covers the wiring compartment where the "external" wiring connects to the "internal" wiring, you will find a punching in the metal surface of the AHU that when removed gives a circular opening , 1/2" diameter,for a cable-connector. Locate the switch-box there- it's the most convienient and practical location for those who will service the AHU.

It's very improbable that a D-P switch rated at 20 amps is required-- check the name-pale for full-load motor current.

If you'r the type of person who is meticulous about you'r home's "systems", please allow me to cite a relevant Code Article (210.63)-----" A 120 volt receptacle outlet shall be installed for the servicing of (HVAC) and refrigeration equiptments"

Good Luck & Enjoy the Experience!!!!!!!!!!
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-05, 10:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
Thank you, I planned on adding a receptical nearby!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'