3Way switch install, works but lights are dim.

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-22-05, 11:53 AM
epic69
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
3Way switch install, works but lights are dim.

I have my 3way switch hooked up this way.
http://www.handymanwire.com/articles/3wayswitch.html
But i have 2 lights instead of just one like is shown on that first layout. lights turn on and off fine but they are like half power. how do i hook up those 2 lights at the beginning of the run without draining half the power? do i have it daisy chained?
Thanks all!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-22-05, 12:20 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
You have almost certainly wired your two lights in series instead of parallel. The black wire from light 1 and light 2 should tie together and the white wire from light 1 and light 2 should tie together. You then effectively have one white wire and one black wire that supply the light fixtures in parallel. If you need more information, list all of the wires in your boxes.
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-05, 12:23 PM
epic69
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
OK thanks for the reply. I have it wired exactly like the picture on the link provided above.
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-05, 12:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
epic69,

You must have it wired in series, as was stated. If you haven't figured it out yet then tell us how you did connect the wires and we will sort it out for you.
 

Last edited by racraft; 03-22-05 at 12:43 PM.
  #5  
Old 03-22-05, 12:40 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
That picture only indicates one light fixture, so it can't be wired exactly as you say. The second light fixture is the key problem here, so the details about that one are important. If you could list the wires in each box and what they connect to, the solution should be pretty easy.
 
  #6  
Old 03-22-05, 01:39 PM
epic69
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
OK the first light is wired just as shown, the second light has the #14-2 wire coming in from the first light and has the white wire connected to the negative terminal on the light, the black wire coming in from teh first light is connected to the white wire going to the first switch. the 14-2 wire going to the first switch has the black wire connected to the positive terminal of this 2nd light, the white wire (coded hot) is connected to the black from the 1st light.
 
  #7  
Old 03-22-05, 01:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
There is no such thing as positive and negative when dealing with alternating current (ac).

Connect the second light in parallel with the first light. In other words, connect the white wire for the second light to the white wire of the first light, and connect the black wire for the second light to black wire of the first light. Connect all bare or green ground wires together all the time.
 
  #8  
Old 03-22-05, 02:13 PM
epic69
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
OK i mean hot and neutral, instead of positive and negative. sorry for the confusion on that. Ok then i connect the wire going to the first switch coming out of the second light white to white and black to black. sounds easy. Thanks alot.
 
  #9  
Old 03-22-05, 02:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Looking at the picture and reading your comment, I would say you still have it wrong.

Connect the second light in parallel with the first light. In other words, connect the white wire for the second light to the white wire of the first light, and connect the black wire for the second light to black wire of the first light. Connect all bare or green ground wires together all the time.
 
  #10  
Old 03-22-05, 05:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
May this wording will help.

From the drawing.
all you would need to do is, from the first light extend (add 14-2 wire) the white and black wires to the white and black wires of the second light, black to black and white to white.
And ground wires.
 
  #11  
Old 03-22-05, 06:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Just so we're clear...

I'll use "=" to mean 14/3 and "-" to mean 14/2.

The following can never be made to work, no matter how you connect it:

Power-L1-L2-S1=S2.

I'm thinking that the above is what you have now.

So you need one of these instead.

Power-L1=L2-S1=S2, or
Power-L1-S1=S2, and L1-L2.

The second of these is what is being talked about so far in this thread.
 
  #12  
Old 03-23-05, 06:28 AM
epic69
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
GWIZ Yes that is exactly what i ended up doing last night, i had to add a 14-2 between light1 and light2, and then it worked great. Thanks all for your help.
 
  #13  
Old 03-23-05, 07:02 AM
epic69
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks John that is what i added last night and all is well.

Power-L1-S1=S2, and L1-L2

Thank you all, this forum has been invaluable over the last few years learned many things.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'