Sub Panel Feeder

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-05, 06:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 339
Sub Panel Feeder

Can someone tell me what size conductors and conduit I need to feed a 100 amp sub panel? The run is about 40 feet.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-23-05, 07:24 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
If you use copper #3 & if you use aluminum #2
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-05, 05:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 339
Sub Panel Feeder

If I use individual #3 copper with 2 hot 1 neutral and 1 ground what size conduit should I use?
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-05, 08:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
What type conduit? If your using sch. 40 pvc conduit then 1 1/4 would be my choice allowing plenty of bending space and good sized LB's and other fittings. You can put 6 #3 awg in 1 1/4 sch. 40 pvc. The equipment ground wire does not need to be #3 awg it can be #8 awg copper.
 

Last edited by Roger; 03-24-05 at 09:37 AM.
  #5  
Old 03-25-05, 05:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 339
Sub Panel Feeder

I just learned that I can't use PVC conduit because it isn't allowed by the city code. Also, 60 amp is all I need so I am running #6 3-conductor with ground Romex.
 
  #6  
Old 03-27-05, 12:17 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
Running the RX in pipe is not allowed by NEC { if thats what you intended}.Is this to be run outdoors? If so UF or metal conduit is required
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes