electrical wiring "please help!"

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-27-05, 09:50 AM
shawnestes
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
electrical wiring "please help!"

I'm currently in the process of adding new receptecals in my basement. I have already ran a 20amp receptecal for a treadmill with 12-2wire into a gfci. Can I add 15amp receptecals off this gfci using 14-2 wire?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-27-05, 10:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No, unless you change the breaker to 15 amp and then change the 20 amp receptacle to a 15 amp receptacle.

ALL the wire on the circuit must be large enough for the breaker. And any receptacle cannot be larger than the breaker size.
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-05, 10:49 AM
shawnestes
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
electric wiring

Racraft, thank's for your reply. I have a 20amp breaker feeding a 20amp receptacle. Can I run 15amp receptacles off this?
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-05, 10:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Yes, as long as you wire them with 12-gauge wire. Don't run much off these other receptacles when you're using the treadmill.
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-05, 05:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,662
Not if you are in Canada. Ok if you are in USA.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes