electrical wiring "please help!"


  #1  
Old 03-27-05, 09:50 AM
shawnestes
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
electrical wiring "please help!"

I'm currently in the process of adding new receptecals in my basement. I have already ran a 20amp receptecal for a treadmill with 12-2wire into a gfci. Can I add 15amp receptecals off this gfci using 14-2 wire?
 
  #2  
Old 03-27-05, 10:20 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No, unless you change the breaker to 15 amp and then change the 20 amp receptacle to a 15 amp receptacle.

ALL the wire on the circuit must be large enough for the breaker. And any receptacle cannot be larger than the breaker size.
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-05, 10:49 AM
shawnestes
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
electric wiring

Racraft, thank's for your reply. I have a 20amp breaker feeding a 20amp receptacle. Can I run 15amp receptacles off this?
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-05, 10:55 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Yes, as long as you wire them with 12-gauge wire. Don't run much off these other receptacles when you're using the treadmill.
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-05, 05:57 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,341
Received 462 Likes on 382 Posts
Not if you are in Canada. Ok if you are in USA.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: