Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Is aluminum wiring a fire hazard even when no load is present?

Old 03-28-05, 10:47 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

I recently acquired an old mobile home (I got it for free, can’t beat that price!) and I’m using it as a storage building; it of course has aluminum wiring as it was built in the ‘60s. I hooked the electrical up to it today, now I’m worried about the thing going up in flames at night while I’m sleeping.

I turn everything off when I leave (except for a small clock) so I’m just wondering if aluminum wiring will burn even if there’s no load on it? I wouldn’t think so, but I’m no electrician.

Old 03-28-05, 11:53 PM
R
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Only way to answer that is if you have made a complete inspection of the wiring for damage. I would inspect all the accessable wiring..ie..receptacles. switches and lights .... make sure the wire nuts and wiring insulation does not looked burned or corroded. If it has been unihabited for some time then beware of rodent damage, they love to chew on wires. Do this carefully, with the power off of course, as aluminum isnt very friendly to a lot of bending and flexing. If any of it is 14 awg then it must be changed to 12 awg Aluminum or changed to copper. Aluminum Nm-b is darned hard to come by these days so changing to copper is probably the realistic answer. You may even want to change out the receptacles and switches to aluminum rated ones if they arent already all else being up to snuff.

Old 03-29-05, 07:52 AM
J
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Most of the problems with aluminum wiring are poor connections. Poor connections only cause problems when under load. So by turning everything off, you are of course not 100% safe, but you have eliminated almost all of the hazard.

Old 03-29-05, 10:03 AM
J