Question about Bath Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-28-05, 11:28 AM
hth
hth is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 233
Question about Bath Circuit

My house has all outlets (including 2 baths) on 2 circuits but the receptacles in the baths on same circuit. I'd like to add bathfans to the bathrooms but still thinking about what circuit to hook the fans to. My thought is pulling a new 20A circuit and put the bath receptacles on this new circuit and use the 2 pairs that currently feeding the bath receps for the fans. Do you see it right? Any better way to do?
Thx.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-28-05, 11:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
New code allows you to hook up bathrooms in two ways.
1. Recptacles only in all bathrooms may be on one 20 amp circuit with GFCI.
2. Recptacles and other devices in one bathroom may be on one 20 amp circuit. That means each bathroom has its own 20 amp circuit with light receptalces fans etc on it. Only devices within the one bathroom may be on this circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 03-28-05, 11:53 AM
hth
hth is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 233
I may go with #1 to put receps in 2 bath on new 20A circuit. How about installing new bathfans using power currently feeding the receps in a baths? Is it in the codes?
 
  #4  
Old 03-28-05, 12:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
That would work. You could put one GFCI in the first bathroom and feed the second from the load terminals to avoid the cost of two GFCI receptacles.
 
  #5  
Old 03-28-05, 12:12 PM
hth
hth is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 233
Thx for your help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'