weird vibe

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-31-05, 11:12 AM
yahoo_ 20002
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
weird vibe

hey guys, got some wonderful info from the hvac section and thought I would check you guys out. I added a light fixture and switch In a new basement, when I swipe the swithc with the probe ( the one that beeps and glows red) about an inch or two away it reacts what did I do wrong?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-31-05, 11:27 AM
yahoo_ 20002
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
bumb

maybe I did not sound right, I installed a switch and light from a recepticle feed. the recepticle, switch and light work, but when I test the switch in the on position with the probe it reacts, when I turn the switch off and swipe the probe it only reacts fro0m the hot side. Is this normal
 
  #3  
Old 03-31-05, 12:15 PM
yahoo_ 20002
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
bump

somebody helppppppp!!!!!!!!! Please
 
  #4  
Old 03-31-05, 12:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
What probe are you talking aboput?
 
  #5  
Old 03-31-05, 12:42 PM
yahoo_ 20002
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for replying. the tester that looks like a pen and glows red and beeps when there is current. When I hold it away from the switch about two inches it reacts. I don't think this should happen
 
  #6  
Old 03-31-05, 01:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 149
You may have a tester designed to trace wiring behind walls, in which case the 2" range sounds reasonable. Check the instructions. They should explain if this is the case.
 
  #7  
Old 03-31-05, 01:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 89
I think you are fine. My guess is that you are off of a main circuit and therefore the black is always hot, but the white is not because it only has current (returning form the fixture) when the swith is on. I am not an expert though, so wait until you hear from someone who is - I am sure someone will weigh in today.
 
  #8  
Old 03-31-05, 02:40 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,674
yahoo_ 20002,

What you have is a non-contact voltage probe.
They are very sensitive and only really to be used as a guideline when testing for power because they will often react to stray voltage.

This tool is really not to meant to be used for what you are doing.
I use these for troubleshooting but you need a lot of experience to sort out the bad readings and they are never to be used as a test before touching the wires.
You need a normal contact type voltage tester
 
  #9  
Old 03-31-05, 04:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
You readings sound correct to me. There is always live power in the switch box unless you turn off the breaker.
 
  #10  
Old 04-01-05, 04:46 AM
yahoo_ 20002
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks, thats a big relief. Yeah the probe/ tester is one of those 5 buck gadgets that you use to get an idea with . and again thanks for all the replies
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'