Bath Exhaust Fan

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-02-05, 08:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 339
Bath Exhaust Fan

I have a bath with switch operating the ceiling light using in-the-wall Romex. Line feed is at the switch. I want to install a combination light and exhaust fan with separate switches for the light and fan.

If I replace the single switch with two switches can I fish a single THHN conductor in the wall/ceiling from the second switch to the fan and share the neutral?

If not, how should this be done?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-02-05, 08:23 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Wink

Why not If code will let you there pull a single wire. But if you can fish a wire in there Id just pull a 3 wireW /G there now.

ED
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-05, 08:24 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
No, no, no, no.
You must either replace the 2-wire NM with 3-wire (preferred method),
or add another 2-wire.
 
  #4  
Old 04-02-05, 01:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 339
OK ... I suppose the single THHN wire doesn't meet code, but I wonder what is wrong with it...is it a matter of too little insulation or what?
 
  #5  
Old 04-02-05, 06:07 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Wink

Its all in what code said or calls for.

ED
 
  #6  
Old 04-03-05, 07:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 132
If you ran the single THHN conductor in conduit it would be fine, but I doubt you want to do that as it would be easier to replace the NM cable. THHN is rarely used inside a house in areas where NM is allowed.
 
  #7  
Old 04-03-05, 08:49 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Even a single conductor in a conduit would not be code.
It would need to be run with the other circuit conductors.
 
  #8  
Old 04-03-05, 08:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 132
That's right, I forgot everything has to be run together unless you use NM. Anyway, replacing the 2 wire with 3 wire is the easiest anyway.
 
  #9  
Old 04-03-05, 09:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 339
OK, so suppose I fish another NM down the wall... can it be another 2-conductor and use it along with the existing 2-conductor or do I have to fish a 3-conductor and abandon the existing 2-conductor? Also, isn't there a code requirement to strap the NM? If so, how do I strap inside the wall? Do I have to remove and replace the plaster just to strap the new NM? The existing 2-conductor NM is stapped inside the wall.
 
  #10  
Old 04-03-05, 10:10 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
I really would run a 3-wire and abandon the old one. It is just simpler that way.
You do not have to strap/staple the new cable in old work. It can just float in the wall as odd as it seems.
 
  #11  
Old 04-03-05, 12:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 339
OK I think I got it...a modification is old work even though it is new work (to me) and there is a gray line where on one side of the line I have to meet code and on the other side of the line I don't have to meet code...or maybe there is a new work code and an old work code that are different.

On a more serious note, thanks for all the helpful comments. The other thing is nobody is going to inspect this old/new work...I just would like to do it right.
 
  #12  
Old 04-03-05, 03:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You may want to do it properly, but more importantly you need to do it safely.

Electricity can kill. Electricity can cause fires. Those two things should be enough for you to want to do this properly.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes