Bathroom recepticle not working - GFCI Issue?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-07-05, 01:02 AM
stockboy85
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Bathroom recepticle not working - GFCI Issue?

I have two bathrooms in my house with 1 recepticle each. Neither of these are working, and the last time this happened, all I had to do was reset the GFCI switch in the garage. However, this time, the GFCI switch won't let me reset it. I can push the reset button in, but it just pops back out. Anyone know what is wrong?

C
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-07-05, 04:24 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
A guess maybe that some GFCI's will not reset when there is no power applied. So check your breakers, and check to see if there is another GFCI upstream somewhere else that feeds that GFCI in the garage.
 
  #3  
Old 04-07-05, 04:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
As Ron said, there may not be power coming into the GFCI. Check the circuit breaker.

The other possibility is that you have a ground fault. What else is on this circuit after the garage? Are there outside receptacles? Did either receptacle in the bathrooms get wet?
 
  #4  
Old 04-07-05, 05:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 171
One more possibility, bad gfci recep. Remove the conductors from the load side of the recep, with the breaker off, of course. Turn the breaker on and see if the recep will reset and operate, If not change the recep.
 
  #5  
Old 04-07-05, 11:34 AM
stockboy85
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No other GFCI recepticals upstream that I can find. the GFCI does have power coming into it (I accidently shocked myself - this set is on a different breaker than the rest of my garage and I didn't know that until now). I don't know of anything that got wet, but it has been about 2 weeks, so anything that was wet should be dry by now. I replaced the GFCI and that one didn't work either.

Any other suggestions?
 
  #6  
Old 04-07-05, 11:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 171
There are only 1 set of wires going to it?? (one white, one black, one bare)
 
  #7  
Old 04-07-05, 12:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
In a closed environment such as an electrical box, it's possible that something that got wet two weeks ago is still wet. Or maybe there is a leak keeping it wet. Or maybe something plugged in is faulty (have you unplugged everything)? Or perhaps you miswired the new GFCI. Or perhaps there is an accidental short in the box. Or maybe you hung a picture on the wall and the nail hit a wire.

Did you do the experiment Jedi suggested? Start by shutting off the breaker and disconnecting the wires from the load side of the GFCI. Then restore power and see if the GFCI can reset then.
 
  #8  
Old 04-16-05, 11:34 AM
stockboy85
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
yup, you guys were right. One of the receptacles had water in it. I just went to try everyone's suggesgions and i pushed the reset button and it worked without my doing anything!

Thanks to saving me an electrician visit!

c
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'