Main Panel upgrade / questions

Old 04-07-05, 12:52 PM
Phil21
Visiting Guest
Main Panel upgrade / questions

Hey all,

I've read through most of the threads that appear to mention main panel upgrades, and definitely have gotten a somewhat better idea of what is entirely involved.

Here is my problem...

I recently purchased a house w/ 60A service, which runs into a fuse box w/ 60A fuses. From here, some branch circuits go out (fused), and there is also a 30A drop to a breaker sub panel right next to it, which is best described as "old as heck", and has no "main breaker" in it at all. This breaker panel also appears to be completely non-standard (i.e. I can't go to home depot and buy breakers for it - they won't snap in to this thing).

Now.. my question is this..

I currently do not have the ability to dry clothes, due to my dryer being 220. I have had plenty of experience running additional circuits at previous homes, helping friends out, etc. However, due to the breaker panel being something I've never seen before, this simply is not feasible for me to do.

I called an electrictian to get a quote on upgrading the house to 100 or 200A service, and they wanted around $2500 (site unseen). This simply is not feasible for me to do for quite some time, as I'm fairly financially strapped at the moment.

Is it kosher to simply replace the fuse/sub panel box myself, with a 200A 40 slot panel (for future upgrades), and re-breaker the main breaker in the box with a 60A breaker? It appears (since the seals were broken) that I can fairly easily disconnect main power coming out of the meter box - so I can work on this stuff non-live. My concern of course, is that dropping a 200A main panel in, will then be far oversized for the actual eletrical service coming into the house. There is no concievable way I'd actually use above 60A, simply due to what the electrical load in the house is - however things like shorts or branch circuit breakers failing definitely concern me.