outlet trips gfI


  #1  
Old 04-10-05, 05:25 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
outlet trips gfI

I recently installed a new gfI and new recepticals in my kitchen . all the outlets check out fine with the contineuity tester, but when i plug anything into the last outlet in the circuit and turn it on the gfI pops.whats up with that.
 
  #2  
Old 04-10-05, 05:47 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Something is wired wrong.

It might be that the last receptacle has the ground shorting against the neutral.

It might be a multiwire circuit which does not go well with GFCI protection.

Describe the setup in it's entirety.
 
  #3  
Old 04-10-05, 06:31 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
outlet pops gfi

the last outlet has two wires going to it ,all the other outlets work fine when i plug something into them.
 
  #4  
Old 04-10-05, 08:47 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I understand correctly, this last receptacle is not the only receptacle downstream from this particular GFCI, and that plugging this same "anything" into the other receptacles downstream from this same GFCI does not trip the GFCI. I also infer that you only installed one GFCI.

Are there any red wires in any of the boxes you did work in?

Shut off the breaker, pull that last receptacle out of the box (so that you're sure that there are no accidental shorts), plug that thing into it again, and turn the breaker back on. Does the GFCI still trip?
 
  #5  
Old 04-11-05, 02:45 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
outlet trips gfi

i pullerd the receptical out and didnt notice any bad spots in the wiring , do you think i should pull two new wires from the last working outlet to the one that is not working.and yes ,after checking the wires at the outlet and trying again the gfi pops.
 
  #6  
Old 04-11-05, 04:40 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you look at the wiring at the receptacle you are wiring this from?

Have you tried a different receptacle?
 
  #7  
Old 04-11-05, 07:27 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,886
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
Neutral and ground could be pinched in a clamp.
 
  #8  
Old 04-11-05, 06:09 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
outlet pops gfci

thanks every one for your suggestions .I have tried a different receptical and gfci still pops.I will look at the box upstream and take a look at the wiring there.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: