Grounds


  #1  
Old 04-12-05, 10:05 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Grounds

In junction boxes (12/2 w ground), do the grounds have to be joined with a nut? I noticed on some prior work that was done that the grounds were spiced together (twisted) without a nut or tape....(The hot and nuetrals were)...do the grounds need to be attached to boxes (junctions, outlet, switch boxes?) thanks..
 
  #2  
Old 04-12-05, 12:14 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
In the old days, it was common to join the grounding wires without a nut. This is no longer allowed. And if the boxes are metal, the grounding must be connected to the box too.
 
  #3  
Old 04-12-05, 12:30 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,059
Received 521 Upvotes on 426 Posts
You could use a crimp made for grounds instead of a nut.
 
  #4  
Old 04-12-05, 02:24 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If you use crimp connectors, you must buy the special tool to apply them. Do not try to use a pair of pliers. I think the green wire nuts with the hole in the end are the best bet for DIYers.
 
  #5  
Old 04-12-05, 04:14 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
John, while I agree greenies are best for DIY'ers, the special crimper is not always required.
Ideal crimps clearly state you can use "their" linemans pliers, with the built in crimper (30-430), the crimp ground barrels. The Ideal pliers are no different than Klien's with the crimper. Although I still prefer Ideal's pliers.
This method is best IMO for multi-gang boxes.
 
  #6  
Old 04-13-05, 05:48 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for the input. Is there any simple way (acceptable) to ground the box from the ground wires? In my junction boxes all or the ground wires have been trimmed to equal size and tied together. I guess it will be fairly easy to open the boxes up (all accessable) and install the "greenies" Is there any simple trick to ground the box, or do I need a separate ground screw into the box? AND, does this apply to light boxes/outlet/siwtch boxes as well? In all of these cases I have the ground attached to the gound screw of the light/switch/outlet and not the metal box....
 
  #7  
Old 04-13-05, 06:38 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Visit your home center and look into grounding pigtails. They are often sold in a package of ten or so, and they are a green wire with a screw on the end. The screw should fit one of the holes in the box.
 
  #8  
Old 04-13-05, 06:45 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 926
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You can also get wirenut-pigtail combos (Ideal makes these) that have a green wirenut, with a green stranded #12 pigtail coming out the top of the wirenut and a spade connector attached to the other end. Just add a green screw. These come in 10 packs. I found them near the regular wire nuts at the local HD store. They come in black and white as well. They may be ideal (pardon the pun ) for your application.
 
  #9  
Old 04-13-05, 07:18 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks again, what about the light/sitch/outlet boxes. Are they grounded by the ground on the light/switch/outlet or do they need to be grounded like the junction boxes....
 
  #10  
Old 04-13-05, 08:56 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
All metal boxes are treated the same way.
 
  #11  
Old 04-13-05, 09:06 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Then I guess I have to pig tail all of the outlet/switch/light grounds. So if I understand, I will never have a ground coming from the incoming cable (12/2 w ground) going to the outlet/switch/light ground screw directly...(Because it needs to be shared (pig tailed) for the box...
 
  #12  
Old 04-13-05, 09:21 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 926
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
For metal boxes, that is correct. Google "30-3386", which is an Ideal part number. This might be the perfect solution for you.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: