Electrical theory

Old 04-12-05, 10:52 PM
zachtheterrible
Visiting Guest
Electrical theory

Hi there. This is my first posting so id like to say hi again.

Anyways, ive got a rather stupid question on electrical. Im an electronics hobbyist studying to one day become an electronics engineer, so you can grace me with all the complicated words and stuff and ill understand

The question that I have is this: The power that comes off of the secondary of the transformer that goes to my house (i live in US by the way) is 240vrms measured from the top to the bottom of the winding, correct? My 120v plugs would be 240v as well if they were connected from the top to the bottom of that secondary winding, but they are not. I believe that the secondary is center tapped, and that is where the neutral is. So that what I see at my 120v plug is a 60hz sinewave that goes from zero point up to +120v, back through zero point, then down to -120v. Is all of this correct so far?

If it is, my question is where is that center tap connected in my 120v plug, and where are those two 120v wires? It would seem to me that this would necessitate four holes in my plug instead of three. 1. 120v wire 2. 120v wire 3. neutral 4. ground.

Has this made sense at all? Could someone either explain this to me or point me to a good electrician tutorial, Ive searched and searched and havent been able to find one.

thanx

Sponsored Links
Old 04-12-05, 11:05 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Yes, all of that is correct.

The center-tapped neutral is the longer of the two blades on a standard 15A receptacle -- it is wired with a white wire. The shorter blade is the 120V hot (black or red), and the "D" hole is the ground (green).