Gfi Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-05, 07:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 54
Gfi Circuit

My niece has a two year old home that has an electrical outlet off the back porch. From this she runs a small pond...pump, areation etc. I have noticed that there is no GFI outlet in the box. The circuit that it is on has a GFI that is in the garage where the fridge is plugged into. How can I tell if the entire circut is wired through that one GFI? Or can I? I suppose the quickest way to solve this would be put a GFI in the outdoor box but money is tight and would prefer not to buy one if possible. THANKS....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-05, 07:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 108
Without spending money for a tester, I'd say trip the GFCI outlet that is upstream and see if the outlets downstream lose power.
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-05, 07:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Examine the wiring at the GFCI (more time consuming) or simply trip the GFCI with the test button and then test for power at the back yard receptacle (less time consuming).
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-05, 07:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 54
Gfi

thank You....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'