Breaker/Service Panel Compatibility

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-05, 04:23 PM
John1966
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Breaker/Service Panel Compatibility

I have an ITE service panel (100 amp). The panel is full and 3 breakers were double-tapped when I moved into the house. I would like to add some duplex 15/15 breakers to fix this, but my local electrical supply house tells me that ITE doesn't make duplex breakers for this panel and that installing a different brand breaker will violate the NEC (and cause my insurance company to deny my claim when my new Murray tandem breakers cause my house to burn down.)

So - is there really no such thing as a Siemens/ITE duplex breaker?

Any opinions/judgments on installing Brand X breakers in a Brand Y panel? (It seems like it not technically correct, but everybody does it anyway.)

Thanks for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-22-05, 01:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Why do you doubt what the electric supply house is telling you? Sounds like you need a new panel.

Do not install a breaker that is not made for your panel. You are wrong. "Everybody" does NOT do it. To do so would be foolish.
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-05, 01:58 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,426
You could just pigtail the two wires together with another short length that would attach to the breaker. This would solve the problem of 2 wires under one terminal.
 
  #4  
Old 04-22-05, 06:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 171
pc boss is correct, if the breaker isn't listed for 2 wires. If it is then you are already ok. If you want 2 separate circuits you must find a breaker that is listed to use in the panel, regardless of manufacturer. I know Siemans makes a quad breaker, I just installed one. It has 2, 2 pole circuits.
 
  #5  
Old 04-22-05, 06:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 171
Check this link http://www.allbreakers.com/store.asp/pg!products/grp!33
It appears th siemans/ite q15/15 or 20/20 is what you need. Tell the supply house to eat mud.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'