another GFCI Question!

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-26-05, 06:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
another GFCI Question!

How many 20A outlets can you run on 1 20A gfci?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-26-05, 06:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Fayetteville, NY, USA
Posts: 1,052
I seem to recall reading someplace that the rule of thumb is 5, but I am not sure. I don't think the Code regulates this number, but it should say on the GFCI package. Manufacturer's recommendations (and restrictions for use) ordinarily rule.

Any other takers on this one?

Juice
 
  #3  
Old 04-26-05, 06:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Reason why I'm asking, is that I have 4 20A receptacles all wired in series attached to a gfci breaker. Everytime I put my tester in the outlet, it trips the breaker. Could I have wired up the outlets wrong? In the panel- White pigtail, in the neutral bar. Does the white from the outlets go in the neutral bar also?
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-05, 06:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Fayetteville, NY, USA
Posts: 1,052
Four should be no problem at all. However, if you are using 20 amp rated receptacles, you must feed them with #12 wire and a 20 amp breaker, with no #14 wire anywhere on that circuit.

There is a GFCI tester that is supposed to trip the thing. But a regular voltage tester, to my knowledge, should not. If so, perhaps you have wired incorrectly. Make sure that all your downstream receptacles are fed off the "load" side of the GFCI, and that your power source (closest to the breaker) is terminated on the "line" side.

Hope that helps.

Juice
 
  #5  
Old 04-26-05, 06:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
I'll have to recheck my wiring. I have everything wired with 12g. Must be the wiring. I'll recheck.
Thank you
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'