light switch & flourescent/lighting - change questions

Old 04-28-05, 12:44 PM
twobshoes
Visiting Guest
Question light switch & flourescent/lighting - change questions

Good evening,

Background info: This is a house built in 1950 approx. Bathroom doesn't have any outlets except what is on the flourescent fixture. Light switch operates light ---which operates the outlet. (All on/All off.)

I want to: change the light switch to a light switch/plug combo AND change out the flourescent light bar for a vanity light.

What do I need to consider? Can this be done? What "roadbumps" might I come across?

I have limited knowledge of this task, but am very "handy" - and a quick learner for these tasks. As far as tools - I have a currency/voltage meter.

Help! I need something to do this weekend! (Besides, my flourescent is on the fritz...burns out bulbs about every 4 months...and I'm sick of it! Besides, the outlet is way up overhead by the light - completely inaccessible!)

Sponsored Links
Old 04-28-05, 12:49 PM
In order to tell if this is possible, we need to know if the power goes first to the switch or first to the light. If it goes to the switch first then this is possible. If it goes first to the light then this is probably not possible without changing the wire between the light and the switch.

Note that even though this may be possible, it will probably not meet code. I would suggest running a new circuit so that you do meet code.

Old 04-28-05, 12:55 PM
twobshoes
Visiting Guest
Originally Posted by racraft
In order to tell if this is possible, we need to know if the power goes first to the switch or first to the light. If it goes to the switch first then this is possible. If it goes first to the light then this is probably not possible without changing the wire between the light and the switch.

Note that even though this may be possible, it will probably not meet code. I would suggest running a new circuit so that you do meet code.