Service Panel full

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-30-05, 10:59 AM
pat.v
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Service Panel full

I have a 16 slot Murray 100 amp service panel that is full. Two slots are taken up by a 100 amp breaker protecting a sub-panel in another building. I want to put a second sub-panel adjacent to the service panel to allow use of a 50 amp welder and potential future circuits. MY problem is that the two large screw-downs on the neutral are full. One by the neutral of the sub-panel leading to the other room and the other (also looks like a #2 awg) disappearing into my attic. I confess I haven't traced it. If I add another sub-panel with a #2 feeder, is there anyway to attach the neutral? The hots will obviously tie into a 220 breaker that will need to replace two circuit slots already in use. I expect I would run those removed circuits off the adjacent sub-panel. I'm trying to avoid a whole new service panel. Can two neutrals be screwed down under the same large block?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-30-05, 11:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Buy an add-on neutral lug for your panel.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-05, 02:10 AM
ElectricalMan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisonburg
Posts: 744
hmmm.....a loaded 100A panel and you already have a sub to it and then you want another sub on a 100A panel for a 50A welder....hmmm...I would say in my humble opinion I just upgrade to a 200A panel.....

Post what you already have in your 100A panel.......I hate the idea of just saying...add another main lug panel when the service needs to be sized to handle all the items that are added....can the 100A panel handle it and is it sized for it....
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-05, 11:05 AM
pat.v
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
House is 2000 SF, Woodworking shop 1000 SF (with 100 amp sub-panel), 16 slot service panel has: 220 circuits: Main, 20 amp spa pump, 40amp stove, 30amp dryer and 100amp for wood shop, 110 circuits: occupying 6 remaining slots are all tandem breakers supplying main house with 12 circuits for lights and wall plugs divided fairly evenly. Thanks for your responses. If you guys say new 200amp service that's what it'll be.
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-05, 12:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Google "demand load calculation". Do the math. I'll bet it'll tell you that 100 amps is insufficient.
 
  #6  
Old 05-02-05, 12:51 AM
ElectricalMan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisonburg
Posts: 744
Yeppers.......I concure...lol
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'