Split feed outlet w/ only 1 common wire?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-01-05, 07:53 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Split feed outlet w/ only 1 common wire?

I'm replacing a busted outlet that is setup as a split feed, the top one on a switch circuit, the bottom one isn't. I was planning on setting it up the same way, but after taking the old one apart, I noticed that there is only 1 common wire attached, and the break off fin is intact. I expected to find 2 romex cables back there for each circuit, but there is only 1, with 2 hots (1 switched - red, 1 not - black) a common and a ground.

The diagram that comes with the outlet clearly shows 2 commons for a split feed type of setup, so I'm wondering if it's safe to wire it up with only 1. I'd be willing to wire nut off the unswitched hot and have both outlets switched if this is a safety issue. Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-05, 08:12 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Break off the tab on the brass-screw side of the receptacle only. Then connect red and black to the two screws on the brass-screw side, and the white to either screw on the silver-screw side.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-05, 08:18 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok then, wire it as it previously was. Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-05, 08:22 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If it worked before, then wiring it the same way is usually the best algorithm.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: