Clearance for Light switch from Copper line?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-05, 07:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 5
Clearance for Light switch from Copper line?

Hey there,

I have to move a light switch. I'm building a wall right where the switch currently is. Well it turns out that there is a copper pipe running vertically beside the spot where I want to put my switch. I will have about 2-3 inches of clearance between the new box and the pipe. Is this permissable? safe? I know that there is always potential for a leak. But can this still be done?

I've had lots of well intentioned but incorrect advice from people in the past so please only reply if you know for sure.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-05-05, 07:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
It's okay.

As you move your switch, make sure that all splices and ends of live wires are in permanently accessible junction boxes. Don't bury a splice.
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-05, 07:47 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
It's perfectly okay provided there's enough room for the switch box to be properly installed.
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-05, 08:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 5
That's exactlhy what I wanted to hear. I'll be able to meet the criteria from both your replies. thanks guys
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'