How to wire a double outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-05, 06:55 PM
rescuerandy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry How to wire a double outlet

OK I'm a reasonably good handy man but I can't remember how to wire a double outlet. Single outlet, no problem, double....eh lets just say it wasn't the way I remember. I know one of the outlets get the hot and one of them get the neg and the grounds all go together. but the wire between the two out letss is what is confusing me. Is it hot to hot and neg to neg or is it unused neg to unused hot? HELP!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-05, 07:08 PM
RSL
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I would cut 2 - 4"-6" pieces of wire for each color - white, black, and ground. Take the incoming white and pigtail with both white 4"-6" pieces.
Take the incoming black and pigtail with both black 4"-6" pieces.
Do the samewith the grounds.

This will serve two purposes. It will give you a wire for each outlet but more importantly, if one outlet goes bad, the other outlet will continue to work.
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-05, 08:00 PM
Jason R's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 261
I would hook up one outlet to the power supply as if it were going to be the only one in the box.

Pretty much any outlet has 2 sets of screws on both sides. Precisely so something like what you're trying to do can easily be done.

After you hook up one of the outlets to the power supply cable, run a small length of cable from the supply outlet (using the second set of screws that are there) to the second outlet. That's one of the reasons the other screws are there. Keep black to black and white to white and ground to ground.


That will leave more room in the box than pigtailing every wire. You'll still probably have to pigtail the ground (bare) so that both outlets can be properly grounded.
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-05, 08:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
In my opinion, Jason's instructions are much easier to implement, and that is what I would do. Yes, you will need to pigtail the grounds, or use a grounding wire nut that has hole in it allowing one wire to poke through, saving the need for one of the pigtails.

By the way, there is no negative wire. It's called a neutral. The hot wire is both negative and positive.
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-05, 08:51 AM
ElectricalMan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisonburg
Posts: 744
Howdy.....


The only thing I would add is pigtails would maintain the ability for them to be intact in case someone removes one of the recepts or a recep becomes defective.......But you are correct the latter post is easier for them to understand...

Hey call me paranoid Rac.......I can take it fella....
 

Last edited by ElectricalMan; 05-07-05 at 09:03 AM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes