wire in concrete

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-14-05, 02:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 237
wire in concrete

i need some advice on how to go about running electric through concrete..
i want to install a lamp post and outlet used for xmas lighting..im going to make it a dedicated 20 amp line,the whole lenght of line will be 15 feet from panel.
i have conrete walk way all around the front of my house,which is 12 inches thick..... ....im going to cut a 4 inch wide section out of the conrete and run wire ,then repair that section with concrete..
should i run single conductors through emt conduit,or us uf cable....im not sure if uf cable can be buried in conrete....thanks for any advice you can give me....
basically the run will consist of ,from the panel directly through the fondation .(about 2 feet),then the cable will run along the outside of house (5 feet),then down into the concretewalkway (3 feet acrosss ),then approximately 4 feet along (under) the dirt to the lamp post...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-14-05, 03:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I would use steel conduit through the foundation of the house. For th walkway, bury the cable deep enough so that it goes under the walkway completely. If you want, use conduit to protect it, but it should be deeper than 12 inches anyway. Use 12-2 UF cable.
 
  #3  
Old 05-14-05, 04:25 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 44
>should i run single conductors <

If the wire is going into conduit which I would do, then I beleive they need to be single conductors. Some 12 ga stranded should do the trick. It something like TWN but I can never remember the letters.

>im going to cut a 4 inch wide section out of the conrete and run wire ,then repair that section with concrete..<

Dig a hole on both side of the sidewalk and then punch a steell pipe through under the walk. I have doen this befoe and will save you from ripping apart the sidewalk.

Hope this helps,

Bob
 
  #4  
Old 05-14-05, 12:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 237
thats a good idea bob ,but my problem is the sidewalk goes right against the foundation,so there is only dirt on one side,and also it is a double sidewalk,through out the years my grandfather raised the sidewalk to keep the water out,before city storm sewers were upgraded,so now i have a 12inch thick sidewalk..
 
  #5  
Old 05-14-05, 01:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 32
"im not sure if uf cable can be buried in conrete" - No. Article 340.12(8)

UF cable minimum depth for direct burial is 24", or 12" if GFCI protected before exiting house.

Can you do the entire run in conduit? That would be the best way. Don't use UF cable, use THWN wire (black, white, green), 12 guage. Don't use EMT conduit, it will rust away. Use Schedule 80 PVC
 
  #6  
Old 05-14-05, 03:09 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
pvc is illegal to use in residential application even underground. Ideally i would use rigid steel but emt will last for a long long time before it rusts
 
  #7  
Old 05-14-05, 04:53 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Originally Posted by kbaker
pvc is illegal to use in residential application even underground.
That's news to me. Can you cite a code refrence to support this.

We use PVC all the time in both commercial and residential applications.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'