Receptacles in series problem

Old 05-15-05, 09:52 AM
durian
Visiting Guest
Receptacles in series problem

I am new to home wiring but have done my best to learn to wire things safely. I have already found things that the previous owner of my house did not do correctly.

In Brief
Voltage to one 15A circuit’s receptacles dropped to 96V. [The 15A breaker never tripped.] I’ve replaced the first 2 of them in the series. In each case, digital multitester shows 120V at the brass screw, but only 96V when tested through the outlet openings, with hot-and-ground test showing 18V.

How do I diagnose this problem?

Background Details
I have a 15A circuit that appears to be parallel, with one leg supplying the outlets to a room and the other supplying an overhead ceiling fan/light. I had a small 75W TV and 2 or 3 small kitchen appliances plugged into a bright orange heavy duty (13A/125V/1625W) extension cord that was plugged into one of the receptacles on this circuit. A short somewhere caused the whole receptacle leg of the circuit to lose voltage, so that each receptacle only had 96V when tested with digital mutitester thru the outlet openings.

I initially suspected the extension cord (which may have been damaged inside from tight crimping) or the TV, but both operate fine when plugged into a GFCI on separate circuit.

I have replaced the first two receptacles in the series. In each case, wires were short, and I had to add pigtails to the wires in the receptacle box to provide the 6” or 8” required. I used 14G wire for the pigtails, though the source wire appears to be 12G. In each box were 2 sets of hot/neutral/ground wires (black/white/bare) from what appears to be 12-2 NM cable. The boxes end up being pretty crowded, but the “leakage” of current or voltage occurs before the wires have been crammed back into the box, so it is not the overcrowded box that is causing the leakage.