Wiring receptacles and switches with stranded wire

Old 05-19-05, 10:14 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Wiring receptacles and switches with stranded wire

I’ve never done this before. Do you make a loop in the wire like you do with a solid core wire for side screw terminations? Or do you put the wire in straight, and then tighten the screw down? I’m going to be using 14ga on my project, but I was practicing with a piece of 12ga wire last night. After stripping the insulation and twisting the wire, it seems like after I get the wire wrapped around the screw and start to tighten the screw the end of the wire wants to fray out a little. Is this normal or is there some “trick of the trade” I should do? I know you have to make the loop “clockwise” so that when you tighten the screw it will pull the loop smaller. Thanks for all your help.

Old 05-19-05, 10:35 AM
Wink

Dont get why you use strand wire there???? But if you do Id solder them first then bend CW under the screw.

ED

Old 05-19-05, 10:35 AM
W
By far the easiest way to use stranded wires is to use devices (receptacles and switches) that are 'back wired'. This sort of termination tends to be found on the higher quality, more expensive devices. Behind every screw there is a hole and a 'pressure plate'. You push the wire into the hole, and tighten the screw. This pulls the pressure plate snug against the wire. No messing with making hooks, and all of the benefit of a screw pressure clamping the wire. This should not be confused with the extremely cheap 'quick wire' where you push the wire into a hole and pray that the spring correctly holds it (these are also called 'back stab' receptacles, with good reason.

Another approach that you can use is the twist the wire 'backwards' prior to making your hook. I use the following technique:
1) Start stripping the wire about 1.5" from the end of the wire. Don't strip the insulation all the way off; expose about 1" of wire.