GFCI Protection in 2 different bathrooms

Old 05-20-05, 08:38 AM
GFCI Protection in 2 different bathrooms

I'm doing a complete home rewiring and am doing everything to code (I hope at least because it will be inspected). Not being an electrician, I have 2 specific questions that I could not find in my books.

1) I have 2 small bathrooms, 1 upstairs and 1 downstairs, that I am wiring on the same 20 amp circuit. The lighting in these bathrooms will be on a different "general lighting" circuit because I know you can only wire 2 bathrooms together if the lighting is seperate. Should I only use 1 GFCI outlet in the bathroom that is first in the circuit? I know the outlets in both bathrooms would still be GFCI protected in this case, but you would have to go upstairs if you needed to reset it. Is this allowed or do you need a new GFCI outlet in each room?

2) I am installing an exhaust fan over the shower in the one bathroom. Should I tie this in with the "general lighting" circuit or does it need to be GFCI protected? If it needs GFCI protection, can I use the same 20 amp line that I used for the outlets in both bathrooms? Which direction should I take for wiring the exhaust fan??

Thanks for the help!!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-20-05, 09:22 AM
1. You can use a single GFCI receptacle in the first bathroom, or you can use a GFCI receptacle in each bathroom. I would place one in each bathroom. It makes it much easier to find in the event it trips. There are numerous posts here all the time for someone not realizing that the GFCI they need to reset is located somewhere else.

2. You cannot tie this into the GFCI circuit serving the bathroom receptacles, since that circuit will be serving two different bathrooms. This fan does not need to be GFCI protected. Just be careful that you donít overload the general lighting circuit you are using.

Old 05-20-05, 09:44 AM