Split circut question

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-04-05, 11:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 68
Split circut question

I am looking to put in a dishwasher into my kitchen. In order to make it look as neat as possible I was hoping to splice a 110 plug just below the counter line for the dishwashers powersupply. Now I havediscoveredthat my kitchen iplugs are run on a splt circut. How does one properly splice into such a beast? Furthermore is it against usually code to have a plug below the counterline in a kitchen?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-04-05, 12:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
It is not against code to have a receptacle below the counter. However, do not even think of tapping your counter top circuit for this.

The receptacle for the dishwasher should be directly behind the dishwasher, and it should be it's own circuit. You can share the circuit for something like a garbage disposal, but you really shouldn't.

As for tapping into a multi wire circuit, this is never something a novice should attempt.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-05, 09:05 AM
ElectricalMan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisonburg
Posts: 744
IN many of the areas in VA the inspectors are not allowing direct wiring to the DishWashers any longer and we are putting recepts under the counter and putting the Dishwashers on Plug and Cord.

I have met some of our inspectors in other counties we contract jobs in who demand this type of compliance as they fight the idea of direct wiring the DW even if the DW has a OFF only selection on the controls which then gets it into GREY area of the code.....read it sometime...

Many are now trying to push for a pull disconnect under the counter feeding the DW to allow power to be cut off for service.....but the code still ( 1999 ) allow us to Plug and Cord it...and count as a disconnect device.

But the debate rides on but it is clear a plug and cord is allowed but has to maintain access and so we started putting the recept under the sink and running the plug and cord through the dishwasher supply hole and solved the debate for now.

As for like RAC said....do not tap into the countertop circuit to achieve this. If you have a Disposal do some checking and see what circuit it is on and it possibly may be on it's own....then you could tap into that circuit but only after review and are certain of what you are attempting.

I wont say Dont Do it......because this forum is to teach you HOW to do it yourself and not blow CODE down your neck.......but again knowledge is a powerful thing......
 
  #4  
Old 06-11-05, 11:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 68
Originally Posted by ElectricalMan
IN many of the areas in VA the inspectors are not allowing direct wiring to the DishWashers any longer and we are putting recepts under the counter and putting the Dishwashers on Plug and Cord.

I have met some of our inspectors in other counties we contract jobs in who demand this type of compliance as they fight the idea of direct wiring the DW even if the DW has a OFF only selection on the controls which then gets it into GREY area of the code.....read it sometime...

Many are now trying to push for a pull disconnect under the counter feeding the DW to allow power to be cut off for service.....but the code still ( 1999 ) allow us to Plug and Cord it...and count as a disconnect device.

But the debate rides on but it is clear a plug and cord is allowed but has to maintain access and so we started putting the recept under the sink and running the plug and cord through the dishwasher supply hole and solved the debate for now.

As for like RAC said....do not tap into the countertop circuit to achieve this. If you have a Disposal do some checking and see what circuit it is on and it possibly may be on it's own....then you could tap into that circuit but only after review and are certain of what you are attempting.

I wont say Dont Do it......because this forum is to teach you HOW to do it yourself and not blow CODE down your neck.......but again knowledge is a powerful thing......

ok fine make its own circut..... a hrd thing to do considering the jungle maze in the floor joistst for other utiities and the finished basemant but hopefully doable what breaker size should i be looking at??
 
  #5  
Old 06-11-05, 11:25 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,342
20 amp breaker, 12 gauge wire.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'