GFCIs (Replace GFCI with a standard receptacle)

Old 06-04-05, 08:31 PM
GFCIs (Replace GFCI with a standard receptacle)

I am a total novice trying to do something simple; switch out a GFCI with a standard receptacle in my bathroom.

I understand the instructions fine; the problem is the @#$ wiring screws on the sides of this receptacle. You can't take them out, and you can't get them to do anything but flop around and inevitably press back up against the sides of the receptacle when you're trying to wrap the copper wire around them. I've tried everything I can think of to get the wire around these things but I just end up pushing the screws back against the receptacle.

I know this isn't clearly described, but can you "see" it? Any tips for getting this finished?

Sponsored Links
Old 06-04-05, 09:03 PM
Check to see if the wire is supposed to be inserted into a hole just next to the screw. If so, the wire should be straight and the amount of insulation stripped should match the guage molded on back of receptacle.

Old 06-05-05, 03:09 AM
What bob100 is trying to say is that some new GFCIs have a plate that is held against a flat metal surface. You insert the wire between the the two and tighten the screw, which hold the plate tight against the wire against the metal surface. If you have this type of GFCI then the wires cannot be wrapped around the screw.

Old 06-05-05, 04:03 AM
Oh -- I don't think I have that kind of GFCI. There are two holes in the back behind each terminal, but no "plate" and the directions do say to wrap the wire around the screw (they don't say HOW though). Thanks though.

Old 06-05-05, 06:36 AM
A picture would help; frankly it sound like you have the wrong instructions. It sounds like you have the type of device where the wire is inserted from the bottom, and when the screw is tightened, a clamp grabs the wire.

If in fact the wire is supposed to wrap aroung the screw, wrap it clockwise and pinch the loop closed with needle nose pliers.