Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Tips for fishing wire from basement to attic of 2-story house?

Tips for fishing wire from basement to attic of 2-story house?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-05, 07:02 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 72
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tips for fishing wire from basement to attic of 2-story house?

Can anyone who has fished wire from a basement up through two stories of a house into the attic share experiences?

I need to run 2 new 20A circuits to an office I have in a bedroom. (1 for computers, another for A/C).

I have fished wire from a basement to an attic of a 1 story houses before. However, in this house, I don't know how to deal with the part between the first and second floors. Further complicating matters, I can't locate an available interior wall that lines up on both floors so I need to fish through an insulated exerior wall. (Actually, there are two common walls on either side of the stairwell however, don't those usually have extra support beams that take a lot more work to drill through at the transition between 1st and 2nd floor?)

I need to go all the way to the attic because I need outlets for one of the circuits on both sides of the office and it is easier to go up and over through the attic for that.

Anyone have any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-05, 08:05 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
You could run conduit out the basement, up the exterior of the house and into the attic. Perhaps you have a nice corner to tuck it into, plus the conduit could be painted to match the house.

If not that, then I suspect you'll need to break some drywall. It's not that hard to repair.
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-05, 09:26 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check to see if the main soil line for the plumbing runs straight up from the basement through to the roof. If so then just fish the lines up beside this.
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-05, 09:36 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You might have a wall on one level which is perpendicular to a wall on the other level in such a way that the cables could go from one floor to the next where the two walls cross.

Alternately, what about a conduit run that goes through a hidden corner in a closet perhaps?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: