20amp GFCI breaker or outlet?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-05, 07:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 28
Question 20amp GFCI breaker or outlet?

I need to put 3 GFCI circuits in my garage...(actually I've ran the wire/outlets etc.. and then realized I needed the gfci to pass inspection)...so I was looking the other day at one of the home centers and a 20amp gfci is $15....any chance the breaker's are cheaper?...

thanks
Doug
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-05, 07:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Don't buy a 20-amp GFCI. Buy the less costly 15-amp GFCI. It'll do the same job, and it's legal even on a 20-amp circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-05, 07:59 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
The cheapest GFCI breakers I've seen are about $35 for single pole and $65 for double pole.
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-05, 08:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 28
I thought I needed a 20amp gfci outlet because it is a 20amp cirucuit...12ga wire...I will be running some of my woodworking machinery off of it....I would think that having a 15amp gfci would cause it to blow...

Doug
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-05, 08:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
A GFCI does not trip because of high current. A GFCI trips because of an imbalance between the hot and neutral wires. Unless you have tools that require a 20 amp circuit (ie ones that have a 20 amp plug on the end), you are fine with a 15 amp GFCI receptacle, as long as this is the US and not Canada.

However, saving $5.00 is not a big deal, so the choice is yours.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'