Installing mechanical timer

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-15-05, 05:28 PM
Fmoran
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Installing a mechanical timer on a swimming pool?

I have an inground swimming pool an every nigth i have to go outside to turn the pool filter on, so this year i went to home depot and purchase a Mechanical timer model T101 intermatic ,i'm trying to install it my self but Iam having a little problem. Do I remove the switch from the pool filter? or do I need to run a new wire?
 

Last edited by Fmoran; 06-15-05 at 05:44 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-15-05, 05:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
What switch are you talking about?

All you do is put this timer in-line.
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-05, 05:46 PM
Fmoran
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
There's an ON and OFF switch on the filter.The timer has a three connection one saids Neutral the other saids line and the last one saids load, do I remove the two wire from the on and off switch and connect them to the timer?
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-05, 05:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Leave that alone. All you need to deal with is the power cable supplying the receptacle where the pump plugs in (or is connected to, or whetever).
 
  #5  
Old 06-15-05, 05:51 PM
Fmoran
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by racraft
What switch are you talking about?

All you do is put this timer in-line.
There's an ON and OFF switch on the filter.The timer has a three connection one saids Neutral the other saids line and the last one saids load, do I remove the two wire from the on and off switch and connect them to the timer?
 
  #6  
Old 06-15-05, 05:58 PM
Fmoran
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by racraft
Leave that alone. All you need to deal with is the power cable supplying the receptacle where the pump plugs in (or is connected to, or whetever).
Thank You i will try it tommorow
 
  #7  
Old 06-15-05, 06:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Your power line to the pump has a hot wire, a nautral wire and a ground wire.

Take the power line from the panel and connect it to the line and neutral terminals. Connect the wire going to the pump to the load and neutral terminals. Connect the grounds to the timer as well.

Your existing wire may not be long enough to cut and add this timer, so you may need additional wire. Remember, outdoor pools require individual wires in conduit. UF is not allowed.
 
  #8  
Old 06-15-05, 06:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 62
I just bought a T101 also but I want to have it next to my service panel.
I am running a 20 Amp GFI to box.
I understand how to put the GFI and plug and switch in. I do not understand the Timer.
Starting from the outside switch to plug then (timer to box) or (box to timer).

Do I run the cable to the timer first then into the box or Do I run the wire to the box and then to the Timer which does not make sense to me?

Thanks,
 
  #9  
Old 06-15-05, 06:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
In theory, you could run the wire either way, except that you would need an extra conductor if you for the timer if you don't wire through it, because it needs a neutral.

However, I do not recommend making splices in the main panel, especially with a GFCI involved as it increases complexity.

Wire from the panel to the timer and then to the pump motor.
 
  #10  
Old 06-15-05, 07:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 62
Thanks

Just want to make sure.
Box to Timer then outside to Plug to Switch.

Thanks again
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'