Subpanel installation

Old 06-18-05, 01:07 PM
firewied
Visiting Guest
Subpanel installation

I am an owner builder and am planning on wiring the house myself. It is a standard 3/2, 2000 sq feet. I have already had the service meter installed at a pump house on the property. I want to run underground from the pumphouse to the house. I plan on installing a 200 amp subpanel at the house. The service meter has a main service shutoff and a small panel to run the well. It has a through service connection. I need to know what size conduit and wire to run. It is a 200 foot run from the pumphouse to the house.

Old 06-18-05, 05:11 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
We need the pump electrical requirements.

Old 06-18-05, 05:36 PM
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
firewied,

I am not sure why we need the PUMP requirements because based on the post from what I can gather you are simply wanting to run the service for the HOUSE from the pumphouse which I am assuming already has maybe a 400A service in it.......here is why I ask....

If you have a 200A Service at the house running 200' from the pumphouse you have to account for voltage drop which in this case if you run 4/0 will give you about 3.3% Voltage drop or 8 volts from the 240V you started out with.

For the ease of PULL I would suggest you install 2 1/4" but code says you can install 2" and be fine. You will only need to pull (3) wires and I suggest you size the neutral equal ( 4/0 ) to the hot legs keeping it simple for yourself. ( Sure you may be able to get away with 2/0 for the neutral but on that distance I would stick to 4/0 personally. ) Also this is for P-40 PVC....P.S. You are going to need to drive a ground rod and many places today like in our area we have to drive (2) of them....but check with you local AHJ.