Breaker Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-05, 10:35 AM
Bob53's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Derry, New Hampshire
Posts: 291
Breaker Question

Hi, an empty 20A breaker in my panel is not being used. today I was going to run a circuit for some additional basement lights. Before running any circuit, I put my Fluke brand neon tester to the breaker and it shows power in the OFF position and no power in the ON position. I compared this with other breakers and none of the others read as this one does. Should I assume a bad breaker and just switch it out? Thanks. DIY to the rescue!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-28-05, 10:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
That's just weird. Either you are not conducting the test correctly, or the breaker has failed in a most unusual way.
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-05, 11:08 AM
Bob53's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Derry, New Hampshire
Posts: 291
The way I am testing it is by touching the neon tester to the screw where a "hot" would attach. thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-05, 11:14 AM
ElectricalMan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisonburg
Posts: 744
Bob53,

Lets get this straight....you are touching the SET SCREW on the breaker while in the OFF position and the other end to the grounded conductor ( neutral/ground bar ) and you are saying you get voltage while the breaker is in the OFF position and none when in the ON position.....hmmmmmm

Ok.......try it again....
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-05, 12:01 PM
Bob53's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Derry, New Hampshire
Posts: 291
Electric Man, all I am using is a Fluke Neon Tester, it looks like an ink pen, but I know that you know that. When the breaker is off, I touch the set screw and my tester lights up like a xmas tree. when the breaker is in the on position, My tester doesn't light up at all. p.s. there is nothing currently connected to this breaker (no circuit) THANKS!
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-05, 12:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Oh, you're using a non-contact "tick" tester. That's a voltage proximity tester. It's not accurate here since there is voltage all over the place inside the panel. Spend $2 and get a neon circuit tester--a tester with two probes instead of just one.
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-05, 01:03 PM
Bob53's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Derry, New Hampshire
Posts: 291
Will do John...going to the depot tonite. thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes