GFI Breaker Keeps Tripping

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-01-05, 08:14 AM
I Dont Know
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Exclamation GFI Breaker Keeps Tripping

I just purchased a mid 80's trailer home and the ground fault circuit breaker trips periodically killing power to 3 wall outlets (110). Ive pulled the outlets out and the wiring and outlets look good. When it first started the breaker would reset immediatly now it may be two or three days later before it will reset, not sure if it will reset at all this time. Im running a computer a cell phone charger and an alarm clock off of these outlets. Any ideas on what the problem may be and how I may fix it?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-01-05, 08:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
One thing I might try is replacing the GFCI breaker. The ones made today are so much better than the ones made in 1980.

Since you mentioned that sometimes it doesn't reset for two or three days, I'm wondering if moisture somewhere is the problem and it takes time to dry out. The moisture could be coming from condensation, a plumbing leak, sprinklers, kids playing with the hose or in the bathroom, or from the weather.

Of course it might have nothing to do with the GFCI and just be due to an overload. But if the three things you mentioned are really the only things on the circuit, that doesn't seem likely (unless the computer includes a laser printer).

One last idea is if you are using a surge suppressor for your computer. When these things detect a voltage spike, they dump the excess current to ground, which will trip a GFCI. Surge suppressors and GFCI don't get along well. You might experiment by removing the surge suppressor for a while (taking the risk).
 
  #3  
Old 07-01-05, 08:32 AM
I Dont Know
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I am running a surge suppressor on the computer but after it trips ive unplugged everything and it still wont reset. Also if it was an overload wouldnt it reset immediatly after turning everything off and unplugging it? Or maybe as you said the GFCI is just old/outdated and needs replaced but if this is the case why does it just kill those three outlets? I pulled the outlets out to check for moisture while checking the wiring as the outlets are under a window but everything there was dry, if moisture was getting in the breaker box would that cause it to trip?
 

Last edited by I Dont Know; 07-01-05 at 08:53 AM.
  #4  
Old 07-01-05, 09:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 149
From what you have plugged in, it doesn't sound like these outlets are in a bathroom or kitchen. Do those outlets work when the GFCI trips? Are there outlets outside that stop working?
 
  #5  
Old 07-01-05, 03:00 PM
I Dont Know
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
All the kitchen and bathroom outlets work but i just checked and there is an exterior outlet that also quits working. I am going to re-seal it and see what happens.
 
  #6  
Old 07-01-05, 03:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 149
That could be your culprit. What do you mean by re-seal? I would dry it out with a hair dryer first and then I would spend a few bucks on a weather proof in use cover. In my experience they are much more effective than the little doors and gaskets.... Just make sure you don't have a sprinkler spouting up into the cover,
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes