Electric dryer wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-02-05, 06:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 530
Electric dryer wiring

I am remodeling my basement, which includes the laundry room. Currently there is no wiring for an electric dryer...only gas accomodations. Since I had my service upgraded last year I know the panel can now handle it, so I've decided to run wiring for an electric dryer for future use. Also thought it might be a good selling point if I ever needed to sell.

The laundry room is right next to the panel so I will only need to run about six feet of wire. What size wire would I need, and how far up off the floor should I locate the plug?

Thanks...Randy
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-02-05, 06:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
10/3 cable from a 30-amp double-pole 240-volt breaker to a 4-hole dryer receptacle. You can put the plug anywhere you find convenient, probably at about the same height as the dryer so that you can reach over the dryer and unplug or plug it.
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-05, 12:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 530
so that you can reach over the dryer and unplug or plug it
Something so simple, yet I hadn't thought of it. Exactly the kind of tip I was hoping for.

Thanks John. I don't plan on installing the breaker right now. I'm just going to install the plug and run the wire into the panel, but I will be sure to leave enough to reach anywhere. I'll also be sure to label it clearly.

As always, I appreciate your advice and help.

Randy
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-05, 12:06 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
Originally Posted by rcash54
I'm just going to install the plug and run the wire into the panel, but I will be sure to leave enough to reach anywhere. I'll also be sure to label it clearly.
Even if you don't install the breaker, go ahead and terminate the ground wire on the appropriate ground bus. You don't want a bare copper wire flopping around inside the main panel box where it could short out your bus bars or anything else for that matter.

I suppose another alternative is simply to leave the sheathing on the NM cable in the panel box. That would work too.
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-05, 09:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 530
I suppose another alternative is simply to leave the sheathing on the NM cable in the panel box. That would work too.
Exactly what I was going to do, but a good tip anyway, to store away for future use.

Thanks...Randy
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'