installing another switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-07-05, 09:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 74
installing another switch

I recently placed a wall in my basment to divide the area into two rooms. But the origional switch controlls all of the lights. how can i add a swtich or divide the lights into two different switches?
thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-07-05, 10:29 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
How many cables enter the existing switch box?

Did you sheetrock the new wall yet?
 
  #3  
Old 07-08-05, 07:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 74
the wall is finised. But the wires are all exposed in the ceiling, since the basement was not completely finised yet. I am not sure how many wires are running into thwe current switch.
I can see and locate the wires that i want to place on a new switch. but am not sure how to do that.
 
  #4  
Old 07-08-05, 07:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
The first question that Thinman asked is very simple, and we still need the answer. Shut off the breaker, gently pull the existing switch out of the box without disconnecting any wires, and tell us everything you see.
 
  #5  
Old 07-08-05, 08:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Here's what you need to determine.

Does the power enter at the switch, and then proceed to one of the lights, or does the power enter one of the lights and then make a loop to the switch?

Ultimately you need to separate the lights into two groups running power to the new group either through the new switch box or making a switch loop to the new switch box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes