GFI Breaker Question - 2 Pole or 1 Pole

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-08-05, 06:33 PM
jtfamily
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
GFI Breaker Question - 2 Pole or 1 Pole

I am pretty sure I know the answer to this is NO, but I want to know.
I have a 220V outdoor circuit that is not services via GFI breakers and needs to be (its a pool motor).

One 2 pole 20AMP GFI breaker is very expensive
2 - 1 pole 20 AMP GFI breakers is actually cheaper.

Can I use 2 - 1 pole's ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-08-05, 07:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
No.
They will trip.
They need the neutral line
 
  #3  
Old 07-08-05, 07:11 PM
jtfamily
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you.
 
  #4  
Old 07-08-05, 08:15 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
I'd also like to add that any multi-pole circuit must be protected by a breaker that will open all ungrounded conductors {hots} of that circuit,GFCI or standard
 
  #5  
Old 07-08-05, 09:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
Ditto. You may NOT substitute 2 single pole breakers where a double pole breaker is required.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes