What's going on in this kitchen?

Old 07-09-05, 01:11 AM
What's going on in this kitchen?

My sister-in-law and her husband moved into a new old house a couple of months ago. I've been helping them with a few things, and they asked me about a problem with the circuits in their kitchen after I told them there was a blatant code violation in the front yard.

The layout goes like this from left to right, including a corner of the kitchen. All outlets above the counter unless noted:

Working outlet --- GFCI(No power) --- Corner of room --- Outlet(No power) ---Working outlet(Not GFCI) under sink --- GFCI(No power) --- Working refrigerator circuit.

On the opposite side of the kitchen, there are 3 functioning outlets. I thought it was odd that there would be a working outlet on one side of a non-working GFCI, a non-working outlet on the other, another working outlet, then another non-working GFCI. I'm no electrician, but you could tell the GFCI's were chintzy and should be replaced.

I told her I could probably fix the problem in front, but I wouldn't touch that kitchen with a 10 foot pole and she should call an electrician.

I went over there to help him with their fence, and asked him where I could plug my saw in. She went to the front with an extension cord, and as I watched, plugged it into a wooden box.

I said, "There's an outlet in that box? She went, "Uh huh." I went behind the bushes and looked, and saw an 18 inch piece of conduit sticking out of the ground, run into a workbox attached to the house. The workbox had a cover on it, and about 5 feet of 14-2 sticking out of the top. This ran into a 10"x6" wooden box with no cover sitting loosely on the ground, wired to an uncovered outlet in a junction box. Just for good measure, it wasn't grounded.

This was inspected and passed by the seller's inspector.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-05, 05:35 AM
I'm not sure what your question is exactly, but I'll give it a try.