New grounded outlets with old wiring


  #1  
Old 07-09-05, 10:11 AM
bexflyer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
New grounded outlets with old wiring

I am in the process of relpacing the 2 prong outlets in my 1962 house with new 3 prong outlets. The old wiring is not grounded. If I connected the new outlet ground via ground wire to the outlet box itself...would this be acceptable (better than nothing). the old wiring is armored cable, so there would be a grounded connection to the electrical box. I tested the outlet with an outlet tester and it shower a "proper ground". Any thoughts are appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 07-09-05, 10:59 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 49
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you are sure the box is grounded then you can do what you said.
 

Last edited by jbfan; 07-09-05 at 08:11 PM.
  #3  
Old 07-09-05, 03:34 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unless the box is properly grounded (which it probably isn't) then what you have done is NOT better than nothing. You would be creating an unsafe situation, as well as violating code.

Either properly ground the receptacles, use two prong receptacles, or use GFCI protection and label accordingly.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: