GFCI Problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-10-05, 08:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 36
GFCI Problem

My home's GFCI is located in my garage. Yesterday, it kept tripping off every 10 seconds while I was using the outlet. I kept resetting it until it would no longer reset. I checked the breaker box and the circuit did not trip so I assumed it was a bad GFCI.

So today I replaced the GCFI and the new one does not work!!! It will not test or reset.

HELP!!!!

Thanks in advance for your time.

John
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-10-05, 09:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Perhaps you mixed up "line" and "load". Did you pay attention to that when you connected it? Did you read the instructions that came with the GFCI that tell you how to differentiate line and load? Did you remember to turn the breaker back on?

Try disconnecting the load side wires and see if you can get it to work then. You may have a ground fault. We can address ways to diagnose that after you conduct this test.
 
  #3  
Old 07-10-05, 10:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 36
I mixed up the line and load.

Thanks for the help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'