surface wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-16-05, 06:20 AM
carlmeyers
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
surface wiring

Is there any method of surface wiring (for double outlets only) in a garage other than EMT? I'd sure like to be able to simply mount ROMEX on wooden running boards and save myself the trouble of bending annd threading metal conduit. Also--do I have to use GFCI outlets?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-16-05, 06:41 AM
Bob53's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Derry, New Hampshire
Posts: 291
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi, with the emt you can buy any of the corners or fittings that attach to junction boxes, offsets, connectors, etc. You can do it without any bending at all if you desire with these pieces. Just a thot
 
  #3  
Old 07-16-05, 07:32 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Or you could use pvc conduit and fittings.
 
  #4  
Old 07-17-05, 07:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If NM cable is allowed in your area, then you can use NM cable. However, exposed wiring must be protected. What constitutes as protected is up to the inspector.

Many consider any wiring in the rafters to be okay as long as it is properly stapled to the rafters or run through them. Wiring on the walls they generally want to be protected. You can use conduit for this, or install a board covering the cable.
 
  #5  
Old 07-18-05, 09:16 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Originally Posted by carlmeyers
do I have to use GFCI outlets?
Yes, all "general purpose" outlets in the garage must be GFCI protected. You can use one GFCI receptacle to protect an entire circuit if you locate the GFCI as the first outlet on the circuit and wire line/load properly.

A dedicated outlet, such as an outlet behind a heavy freezer, does not need GFCI if it not accessible without moving the appliance. An outlet in the rafters for a garage door opener does not need GFCI protection.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: