Neutral & Ground on same bar?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-19-05, 11:53 AM
Bob53's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Derry, New Hampshire
Posts: 291
Question Neutral & Ground on same bar?

I'm sure it's been asked before. My G.E. Service panel has one bar for the neutrals & grounds. Not enuf screws on the bar. I'm making sure that the grounds that are doubled up are the same size (AWG). A few neutrals are also doubled up with matching sizes. My diagram shows (on the panel door) room for another bar. (I would need Carnac the Magnificant to find this spot for me.) If I can find another G.E. bar does that mean the new bar will also accept both neutrals & grounds? I'm handy with my electric repairs but this theory of both being on the same bar confuses me a bit. My mind tells me that if the neutrals also carry current , then isn't my grounds also? Over my head for an explanation, but I would love one if any of the experts have the time.
Thanks So Much.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-19-05, 12:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Most panels will accept a second ground bar. Properly connected, this new bar is also for grounds and neutrals. You should not have neutrals doubled up, that would be a code violation.
 
  #3  
Old 07-19-05, 12:58 PM
Bob53's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Derry, New Hampshire
Posts: 291
Thank You racraft. Would a "generic" brand grounding bar be acceptable if it fits in the G.E. box? At the big stores I cannot find a bar for G.E.

Thank You
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes