Determining the size of the incoming service cable

Old 07-18-05, 04:49 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Determining the size of the incoming service cable

Hello: I am a first time poster to this forum.

I am an investor in row homes in my area. Typically, these are 1200 - 1400 square feet with an additional basement and garage built in the late '60s and early '70's. In any case, I have just purchased three of these homes and they each have a circuit breaker panel with a 60 amp main breaker. I have installed 100 amp breaker panels in other homes that I own, but, on those, I had a new service cable (from the utility co to the street side of the meter, and from the meter to the main breaker) installed.
On these homes, the service cable appears to be large enough to carry 100 amps. There is no conduit required for the service cable, so I am looking at the actual cable. How can I tell if it is, in fact, large enough to carry 100 amps? I am not an expert on wire gauge, so I would appreciate it if someone could give me a measurement of the diameter of the wire that would carry 100 amps (i.e 60 amp = 1 inch, 100 amp = 2 inch, etc). If it would not require the running of a new service cable, I would like to upgrade the panel to a 100 amp panel. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Old 07-18-05, 08:05 PM
in my experience, service cable is sized for the service installed. I have never seen one oversized for future expansion. Now the POCO drops from the pole might be sized for 1 or 200 amps if the old ones were damaged in a storm or something and new ones had to be run. But as far as SE cable down the side of a house, always just big enough for the existing service. Plan on new services if you want to upgrade to 100/150/200 amps.

Old 07-19-05, 08:14 AM
T
Originally Posted by JMattero
Hello: I am a first time poster to this forum.