Cost For A New Circuit Breaker Box ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-05, 07:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 271
Cost For A New Circuit Breaker Box ?

Hello:

Before I contact any contractors, I would like to get some very approx idea what might be a "reasonable" cost to replace a very old FPE 125 amp service/circuit breaker box with a new 200 amp one with about 20 breakers
or so ? Probably a Square D one, I would think.

Live in the Boston area.

Thanks,
B.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-06-05, 09:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
You will need new Service-Condutors with an ampacity = 200, a 200 amp Meter-Socket, the Service Panel with a 200-amp MCB, and probably a new #4 Grounding Electrode Conductor routed between the Service location on the water-meter.

Also, there are "paper-work" expences. In Westchester Co. (NY) this would include; summitting a request to Con Ed to unlock the meter; sumitting and obtaining Con Ed approved "specifications"; "filing" permits with the NY Fire Underwriters and the local municipality, permit/inspection fees to both the "locals" and the NY F-U's. These, ( plus the annual License-renewal fee) probably = a $200 "overhead" for the contractor.
 
  #3  
Old 08-07-05, 07:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
I would not restrict myself to 20 circuits. Put oin the largest one that you can physically fit into the space. 20 circuits is hardly enough for a modern house.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'